New Orleans 

Oh My God! I’m so excited guys! This Saturday is the day. The day my latest adventure begins.

As always on a trip I like to have a basic plan and then wing it once my feet hit the ground. This is of course because plans change at the drop of a hat and as I am a solo female traveller. What I actually end up doing can be drastically different than the plan I envisioned while sitting at home.

Day One:

I will be spending Day one on the Amtrak train as I cruise across the continental United States.

I have an arrival time in New Orleans of 4pm. Once I arrive I will sort out how to get to my hotel. I think there is a variety of ways and so I am unsure s of yet which one I will be utilising. Though it seems very close to the Train Station so I may just walk. After glancing at the hotels website it seems I can take a Taxi, Pedi-cab or a Street Car, and it is approximately 5-10 mins away from the station.

I will be staying at The Hotel Modern, located in the Warehouse/Arts district, it has a street car stop outside and is located within walking distance of many museums. Of course by the time I reach the hotel I will have been traveling for 3 days (though the calendar will only say 2 days) and I will be in desperate need of a shower. I will then also need to find somewhere for dinner and probably call it an early night.

Day Two

I was initially considering a bike tour as a great way to great a fresh perspective on the city. I was considering free wheelin bike tours. However, through my research I decided to go with the more generic hop on hop off bus.

On my first official day in New Orleans I plan to get a feel for the city. I want to ride the full loop and then hop on and off at my favourite stops. Just a really casual day to explore, see a few museums and familiarise myself with the culture.

Day Three

One of the activities I’ve been quite intrigued by while researching this trip has to be one of the cooking demonstrations. Of course I would love it more if it was a hands on experience, but unfortunately a little out of my price range for this trip.

For the bulk of the day I plan to visit the Audubon area, Zoo, Butterfly house, aquarium, Insectarium it all sounds right up my alley. As I will be so close to the ferry terminal would also like to take a trip over to Algiers if I have time.

I love exploring historical style towns and I’ve heard some great things about Algiers that I can’t wait to explore for myself.

Day Four

Can I say this is my guilty pleasure day? That’s right its shopping day !! while exploring and making use of my hop on hop off pass I want to explore and pick up souvenirs. I will begin to practise no buy traveling but that is not the point of this trip.
boron street, streetcar, waterfront shopping

Day Five/ Travel Day

I’m flying out of New Orleans with southwest. I purposely chose a late flight so I could use this day as a full day in New Orleans before heading off to Orlando.

I’m not quite sure what I want to do on this day but I’ve decided to leave it open, and during the rest of the week ill find something to explore further, perhaps squeeze in that trip to Algiers

Now this has undergone some pretty heavy refinement to get to this point. One thing I am quite interested in doing is a swamp and plantation tour. However, I couldn’t find a reasonably priced tour and so I will look in more detail once I arrive, maybe someone at my hotel will be able to advise of the best option.

3 thoughts on “New Orleans 

  1. It’s the best time to make some plans for the long run and it’s time to be happy.
    I have learn this post and if I may just I desire to counsel you
    few fascinating issues or tips. Perhaps you can write next articles regarding this article.
    I wish to read more things approximately it!

    Like

Leave a Reply

